Canada Day

It’s Canada Day! Happy Canada Day!

Today, Canada as a confederation turns 150 years old. We are a relatively young country, but still a great and mighty country.

I love Canada, sometimes, we forget just how truly blessed and fortunate we are to live and grow up in Canada. A country that is truly free and built on tolerance and diversity. Last week, I wrote a speech for the Minister of Advanced Education and in that speech, I wrote how I felt to be Canadian because I can. Ha. Part of my speech talks about the history of upper and lower Canada merging to create one outstanding and strong country. The blending of the provinces emerged from the belief that our nation would be built on pillars of diversity, tolerance and acceptance.

Part of my speech talks about the history of upper and lower Canada merging to create one outstanding and strong country. The blending of the provinces emerged from the belief that our nation would be built on pillars of diversity, tolerance and acceptance. After 150 years, these beliefs are still present today and have made this country strong and welcoming.

In the past few weeks, a number of national companies have tried to sum up what it means to be Canadian, what makes people proud to be Canadian, what are the true words to describe Canada…I don’t know if there are words, but I think what really demonstrates the countries true nature is portrayed accurately in the Jonny Harris’ show Still Standing. For the season premier, Harris headed to my hometown, Fort McMurray. He showed that in the face of adversity, resilience, strength and consideration was demonstrated during those frightful weeks. He showed that while the country is still standing with the community, there is also humour to be shared. That is what it means to be Canadian.

This blog is getting pretty deep lately as I acknowledge those that I care about, and I show gratitude for where I came from. This is real life, it is not all cupcakes and rainbow sprinkles…although those are routinely found in scattered throughout my life and house, life is messy but beautiful.

On this Canada day, I hope you enjoy the day with your family, taking part in the activities and truly embracing what it means to be Canadian.

Happy Birthday, Canada…thank you for always being great.

 

Leave a Reply

