Throw Back Thursday

2016 can suck it. Last night, I saw this post it made me laugh, but also rings so true.

“Is Quentin Tarentino directing 2016?”

Life has definitely been interesting in our household lately. July was going to be an awesome month. Many of my friends and family have resettled back in to McMurray, things were going to mellow out, and stabilize, and we were going to embark on family camping trips.

We had a ball tournament in Exshaw and we would be using our new to us camper for the first time as a family. It was going to be great, until the fated Saturday where my husband was hurt.

It’s an extremely out of the ordinary injury. Completely accidental, and no way of preventing it – see my husband has always played contact sports, football, rugby, and lacrosse with minimal to no injuries. So, how hurt can a 35 year-old Dad get playing beer league slow pitch??? Well, if he explodes off home plate to race the ball the first, he can get injured BAD. His foot hit the base but his body kept going, he twisted and landed on his hip. He ended up dislocating his right leg from his hip, fracturing his hip and breaking the femur head. All while we were 25 minutes away from the nearest hospital.

It’s a freak of an injury. You don’t break your hip at 35, well guess what, you can. He was medevaced to Calgary, where they reset the dislocation. Actually Hayley Wickenheiser, Canada’s Olympic Gold female hockey team captain, reset his dislocation. He spent three days in the foothills resting and waiting for the prognosis. Thankfully, he didn’t need surgery, which means recovery time decreased from six months to eight to 12 weeks. He’s feeling better each day, and looking forward to getting back to normal.

It’s been an adjustment and a challenge, right from the beginning. Figuring out logistics from getting the girls to a location where they wouldn’t have to sit in a hospital to finding a way home for the camper. All I can say, is thank goodness my parents were close and the Brewers, the ball team, were there to help. My parents, who were in Canmore for a wedding, took the girls to the lake and spent time fishing and swimming with them, so they didn’t have to think or see their dad laid up in the hospital. The Brewers, helped me pack up the tent trailer – extremely quickly, and kept the dogs so we could drive my husband to the hospital, and our lake friends were generous enough to drive the camper back to the lake lot for us.

It’s been three weeks since the incident and things are still hectic in our house. One day last week, I was pretty down on myself and feeling pretty crappy, wondering what other crappy stuff would happen in the world. Thinking how much further down in the dumps we could go. You know the same old poor me, I’m failing at 2016, why is karma such a B-word kind of stuff.

I’ve replayed the incident over and over and over again in the mind. This was one of the times, when something hit me. Right after my husband was hurt, I quickly and calmly got my girls into the car explaining to them that we were going to take Daddy to get checked out. I drove into the diamond and the team carried Kyle to the car. As I was collecting his things and ensuring he was comfortable, a woman asked me if I was going to be ok driving him and taking the girls with me. I answered yes. She looked concerned at me and said, “you seem very calm, this kind of thing must happen lots to you.” I replied, “no, but right now the only thing I can control are my actions and emotions. And it won’t help him or my girls if I’m freaking out. I’ll message the team and let you all know what the hospital says. Thank you.”

It was that conversation that reminded me that in every situation I have the power to control my reaction and how I respond to my actions. While I don’t have the power to control the world or stop the bad things from happen, I do have the power to control how I react, to look for the good, and to make the conscious effort to be the good in the world.

UofCReflecting on my impromptu stay in Calgary, I was able to connect briefly with my best friend and old university roommate L. Which was great and the support I needed. I was also able to spend some time at my Alma Mater, the University of Calgary. I was reminded about how much I love that campus and how beautiful it is. I also had the opportunity to experience some local businesses including CRU Juice and Dirt Belly. Both fantastic local sustainable and healthy eats/juice bars. I highly recommend CRU Juice’s Bad Boy Brown. It’s a blend of cashew and almond milk that closely resembles chocolate milk. I also suggest Dirt Belly’s salad bar and Tealada in raspberry cardamom. Both businesses are on our list of visits the next time we are in Calgary.

CRUbreakfastI hope the next five months are better. Let’s close out 2016 with some good. What happened to you lately that is good? Share it, let’s share our happiness and our hopes.

Leave a Reply

